Important Facebook Settings for a Better Usage Experience

Let’s face it. Facebook usage could be a major source of stress for the most of us, but bounded by work, by habit or by sheer necessity, we just can’t call it quits. From annoying ads to baby pictures, to intimate statuses by friends and family, we don’t want it all. What we really want from Facebook is the ability to keep our browsing clean, focused and as stress-free as possible.

My uncle, for example, constantly complains about the bombardment of irrelevant ads on his newsfeed. My friends, on the other hand, are worried about their privacy especially when they are afraid of being stalked (or have already been stalked). And then there are people I know who generally find Facebook a frustrating experience especially when they are being tagged in posts they don’t want to be a part of. These stories are not unique experiences. A lot of people I have spoken to over the years have cited one or all of the above experiences and want a way to overcome.

Luckily, Facebook understands our predicament and so over the years, it has provided users with plenty of privacy and security options to choose from. However, these options can be very overwhelming for naive users or for people who have not kept themselves updated with the sneaky privacy control updates provided by the platform. So if you’re hoping to know everything you need to know to fix your Facebook woes, this post is just for you. We’ll be covering some of the most important setting options instead of the generic ones.

Manage Your After-Death Facebook Life in General Settings

The General Settings has to do with your name, profile URL and contact details.

Manage Account: Should you die, what happens to your Facebook account? This is what Manage Account helps you deal with by providing you multiple options.

Legacy Contact: Choose a legacy contact from friends or family.The person you choose would be able to manage your account if anything should happen to you.

Permanent Deletion of Your Account: In case you don’t have a legacy contact, you can choose to request a which means that when someone contacts Facebook to have your account removed, it will all go away.

Deactivate your account: Oh and finally, you can choose to right from here.

2. Secure Your Profile with the Security and Login Options

This is a particularly important section that can secure your account and requires your attention. Facebook usually updates this section with security features that people tend to ignore. So here are some important fields you need to know.

Where You’re Logged In: if your account has been compromised, this option lets you know where you’ve been logged in. Check this regularly to note any suspicious activity.

Get alerts about unrecognized logins: This option is so important, but people hardly know about it. Unauthorized attempts to log in is a common occurrence. If you want to stay protected, opt for Login alerts that you can receive via Email, mobile number or as a Facebook notification. Select whichever is convenient.

Use Two-Factor Authentication: Want an extra layer of security? Opt for this to get a login code along with your password. Works best for the Facebook mobile app.

Encrypted notification emails: For people who take their Facebook extremely seriously because you don’t need this if you already have the two-factor authentication. But, if you still need an additional layer of security, this option encrypts Facebook notification emails. You will need to decrypt it using a key.

3. Prevent People to Reach You Through Privacy Options

The privacy settings are mostly to do with your post visibility options, but lately, it has also included one essential option that has largely been overlooked.

Who Can Look Me Up: If you don’t want people to find you out through your email address, your phone number or through a Google search, change it all to Friends. Note though that with this option, you will have to manually send people your profile URL if you want them to add you up.

4. Prevent Embarrassing Tags in Timeline and Tagging Settings

Isn’t it annoying when friends tag you in something really embarrassing? Like that night you were zonked out and looked like a zombie? Not a picture you want folks to see on FB. Prevent such occurrences from happening by using these options:

Review posts friends tag you in - ON: This option will let you review all posts tagged. You can then approve it before it can be visible on your timeline.

Who can see posts you’ve been tagged in: If you don’t want your boss to see your posts, you can put him in the Acquaintance list and keep this setting as given under.

Who can see what others post on your timeline? Only you. Unless you want the world to see how much your partner loves with declarations of love on your timeline.

5. Block ‘em All with Block Settings

Want to block apps, invites, messages and anything you detest? Use this option to your heart’s content. Add pages, invites or messages by typing the name as given in the form box.

6. Never See Ads Again with Ad Settings

Ads are extremely annoying for the average user. If you’re not much into getting promotional stuff and want your browsing to be clean and focused, make sure you switch off all Ad options.

Ad Preferences: Select the Ad Preferences option and switch them all off. Life easy!

Hide Ad topics: Hide ads on any topic that you find offensive or annoying.

And if you’re in a mood for getting educated on how ads work, check About Facebook Ads.

7. Some Additional Settings

Here are some additional setting tips:

  • Unfollow Friends: If you don’t want to follow someone’s posts but still want to remain their friends, visit their profile -> click on the Following Tab on profile cover - > Click Unfollow.

  • Ad to List: On the same profile cover of your friend, you can change them into any list you want to move them to.

  • View Activity Log: Keep track of your activity on your profile. Helps you figure out if there has been any suspicious activity happening on your account.

  • Hide Posts: Content from pages annoy you? Hide posts.

  • Group Notifications: Facebook now sends you notifications for any activity happening on groups you follow. Simply visit the group page and click the Notifications and check OFF to opt out from receiving notifications.

  • Delete Account: Want to delete your Facebook account? Go here.

Once you have these settings and checks in place, your Facebook browsing can be much better than it currently is. Do keep yourself abreast with new security changes because Facebook tends to maneuver things around quite a bit.

Farah tries to keep up with the fast-paced tech world by writing about it. She covers latest tech news and writes informative pieces to help her readers make informed decisions about their tech preferences.
BeepWee